Friday, May 19, 2017


From Columbia High School: 

Columbia's School Newspaper Wins First Place For The Third Year In A Row
The Columbian has earned the first place award in an annual competition held by the American Scholastic Press Association for the third year in a row.

The national competition is open to student-run newspapers from across the country. Entries are critiqued on journalistic content, journalistic decision-making, visual layout and design, photography, illustration, and overall editing. Columbia High School’s (CHS) newspaper team tallied enough points in each category to earn themselves a first place for a third year in a row.
Judges noted that CHS has “ excellent school newspaper, which shows the creativity and journalistic knowledge of [its] reporters, writers, photographers, layout/graphics designers and advisor[s].”
The Columbian is a student-run publication whose leaders are enrolled in the Production Journalism course, and have earned their positions after completing the Journalistic Writing or Computer Graphics courses.
David Griffith, Rohan Kremer-Guha, Peter Henderson, Charli Holstein, Donovan Hugel, Xavier Silva, Ethan Smith, and Isabel Turi make up the editorial board for the team. 
The art/design team members for 2016-17 are  Maya Cruz, Emily Glynn, Josh Heacock, Skyler Hurdle, Ty’rese Hutcheson, Jaymee Hyppolite, Caroline Neri, Talia Rhinehart, James Robins,and Leonel Soares. 
Advisers for The Columbian are Joshua Enyeart (English Dept.) and Cindy Malhotra (Fine Arts).

No comments: